Skip to main content

2015 Fort McMurray Film Festival Winners

By September 12, 2015Uncategorized

The 5th Annual Fort McMurray International Film Festival (YMMIFF) was held early September at Keyano Recital Theatre. Organizers were pleased with the audience turn out, marking it the most successful festival since inauguration.

“The community support is incredible for this international celebration of cinema.” said co-organizer Misty Oakes; “The YMM arts scene is alive and well. We have been so fortunate to see our festival grow and evolve over the years all thanks to our association members and supporters.”

15 awards totalling over $5,000 were handed out in the closing ceremony presented by the YMMFMA founding board members and festival co‐organizers. Volunteer judges Cody Bown, Hanna Fridhed and Diana Moser provided artistic analyses while critiquing each competitive submission and listed the following as winners:

2015 Fort McMurray International Film Festival Winners

Best Short:
by Cyrus Neshvad (Luxembourg)

Best Feature:
“Minimalism: A Documentary About the Important Things”
by Matt D’Avella (USA)

Best Documentary:
“Minimalism: A Documentary About the Important Things”
by Matt D’Avella (USA)

Best Music Video: “I’m In Love With the City” by John Osborne (Canada)

Best Animation:
“Butterfly Hunter”
by Min‐Yu Chen (Taiwan)

Best Experimental:
“Evolution and Devolution”
by K. Andrew Murphy (USA)

Best Director:
Peter D. Findlay for “The Bear”

Best Actor:
Max Putz for “Antoine”

Best Actress:
Annette Schlechter for “Antoine”

Best Cinematographer:
Samy Inayeh for “The Bear”

Wood Buffalo Spirit Award:
Sanjay Patel for “If You Love Your Children”

A total of 8 local teams entered the annual 48hr Film Challenge with 6 films making it to completion. Each film had to incorporate the 3 special elements announced at the contest launch and needed to be over 3 minutes in length and under 7 minutes in length. Audiences
were highly entertained by the entries that screened Sunday evening before the awards ceremony. The winners include:

Best 48hr Actor:
Brodie Dransutavicius for “Captain Canada”
by Team Professional Homeless

Best 48hr Actress:
Juila Bennett for “Reunited”
by Team Beetlesquad

Best 48hr Director:
Craig Momney for “Typecast”
by Team Hollywood

Best 48hr Film: “Captain Canada”
by Professional Homeless (Brodie Dransutavicius and Anthony Wall)

Any of the 48hr Films Challenge projects as well as clips from our Awards Ceremony will be available on the YMM Podcast YouTube page,

The YMMIFF Organizers would like to thank our partners, Nexen a CNOOC Limited Company, the Keyano Theatre and Arts Centre and Arts Council Wood Buffalo. The YMMIFF would also like to thank our volunteer Selection Committee and Judges for their dedication to making this event a success.

The Fort McMurray Filmmakers Association also announced its next upcoming event, the 5th Annual Film Fear; a Halloween themed film event to be held October 24 at Keyano Recital Theatre featuring horror short films, costume contests and a screening of the feature Film Trick R Treat. Tickets are on sale now at the Keyano Box Office.

For more information, please visit or

Close Menu