Rufus Archives - Alberta Media Production Industries Association

Thank you – Alberta Film and Television Awards

By Uncategorized


The Alberta Film & Television Awards held at the Winspear Centre in Edmonton this past Saturday May 25, 2013 brought out a large and beautiful crowd from the Alberta Film, Television, and Digital Media Industries.  With Andrew Grose keeping the show rolling with laughter, Mark Connolly interviewing and partying with the winners, and an after-party that went on until the wee hours of the morning, it was a good thing we could sleep in on Sunday to recuperate!

Highlights of the night included Mayor Mandel proclaiming May 25, 2013 as “AMPIA Day,”  moving music from Pear and big winners of the night: Hell on Wheels with six Rosies — including Best Dramatic Series, Best Production Designer/Art Director and Best Costume Designer and Rufus with four Rosies, including Best Dramatic Feature Film and Best Director Drama Over 30 Minutes).

Find the full list of winners at rosieawards.com which will be updated with thank-you speeches from YouTube throughout the week.  Photos from the event will be available mid-week.  Congratulations to all winners!  For more coverage of the Awards please see the following articles: Edmonton Journal Playback

Thank you to our Board of Directors, Events Committee, AMPIA and Awards Production Staff, all our judges, hosts, entertainment, video compilation partners, Venue partners the Winspear Centre and the Westin Edmonton Hotel, and especially all the volunteers involved in the Alberta Film and Television Awards.

Special Thanks to all our Sponsors:

Diamond Level
Alberta Film
Government of Alberta

Patron Level
Banff World Media Festival
Joe Media Group
Jump Studios
Colour by LookLabs

Platinum Level
Jet Music Inc
Idea Factory
Studio Post
The Westin Edmonton

Gold Level
Calgary Economic Development – Calgary Film Commission
Christie Lites
Cine Audio Visual
Delta Bow Valley
Edmonton Film Commission
Keylite Design
Propeller Studios Inc.
Shaw Media
SIM Digital
Spillwall Productions

Silver Level
Bishop & McKenzie
Coast Wholesale Appliances
Columbia Awards
Front Row Insurance Brokers Inc.
Global Edmonton
Keen Eye
Kelly Brothers Productions
Lindisfarne Productions
Motion Picture Theatre Association of Alberta
Prairie Dog Film + Television
Priority Printing Ltd.
Red Deer College
SAIT Polytechnic
Spotlight Productions

Bronze Level
Applied Electronics
FM Systems
iLink Media Group
Mr. Mix Audio
Multimedia Risk
National Film Board
Seven24 Films
Solid Green
Winspear Centre

Alberta receives 25 Canadian Screen Awards nominees

By Uncategorized

The Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television’s new Canadian Screen Awards recognize excellence in film, television and digital media productions.  Their announcement of nominees yesterday includes 25 Albertans and Alberta projects:

Bear 71, National Film Board

  • Best Original Program or Series produced for Digital Media – Non-Fiction – Loc Dao, David Christensen, Dana Dansereau, Rob McLaughlin, Bonnie Thompson

Blackstone, Prairie Dog Film + Television

  • Best Performance by an Actor in a Continuing Leading Dramatic Role – Steven Cree Molison
  • Best Performance by an Actress in a Featured Supporting Role in a Dramatic Program or Series – Georgina Lightning
  • Best Achievement in Casting – Rhonda Fisekci

CAUTION: May Contain Nuts, Mosaic Entertainment

  • Best Direction in a Variety or Sketch Comedy Program or Series – Dana Andersen, Francis Damberger
  • Best Writing in a Variety or Sketch Comedy Program or Series – Matt Alden Dykes, Dana Andersen, Aimée Beaudoin, Sheldon Elter, Jeff Halaby, Mark Meer, Howie Miller, Ryan Parker

The Extra Yard: Inside the 2011 Argos, Aquila

  • Best Direction in a News Information Program or Series – Brian Sobie

Hannah’s Law, Nomadic Pictures

  • Best Costume Design – Wendy Partridge
  • Best Performance by an Actor in a Featured Supporting Role in a Dramatic Program or Series – Ryan Kennedy
Lost Years, Lost Years Productions
  • Best Original Music for a Non-Fiction Program or Series – Darren Fung
  • Best Sound in an Information/Documentary Program or Series – Perry Blackman, Brett Ardiel, Jamie Kidd, Larry MacDonald

Love Lies Bleeding, White Iron Pictures Inc.

  • Best Performing Arts Program or Series or Arts Documentary Program or Series – Braun Farnon, Jean Merriman
  • Best Photography in a Variety or Performing Arts or Sketch Comedy Program or Series – Dylan Macleod, Pierre Marleau
  • Best Picture Editing in a Comedy, Variety or Performing Arts Program or Series – Glenn Saktach
  • Best Performance in a Performing Arts Program or Series (Individual or Ensemble) – Alberta Ballet Dancers

Oil Change – Overdrive, Aquila

  • Best Sports Analysis or Commentary (Program, Series or Segment) – Don Metz, Gord Redel
  • Best Direction in a News Information Program or Series – Mike Beley

The Perfect Runner, Clearwater Documentary

  • Best Science or Nature Documentary Program or Series – Niobe Thompson
  • Best Photography in a Documentary Program or Series – Daron Donahue, Michael McLaughlin
  • Best Writing in a Documentary Program or Series – Niobe Thompson, Tom Radford

Resident Evil: Retribution, Constantin Film International*

  • Achievement in Costume Design – Wendy Partridge

Rufus, Lonely Boy Productions*

  • Achievement in Music – Original Song: “Out of Sight” – Erland & the Carnival
  • Achievement in Music – Original Song: “Wanting” – Erland & the Carnival

Silent Hill: Revelation 3D, Anibrain Digital Technologies (co-production), Davis-Films, Konami, Silent Hill 2 DCP*

  • Achievement in Costume Design – Wendy Partridge

Wrath of Grapes: The Don Cherry Story 2, Entertainment One, Entertainment One, Frantic Films, Pier 21 Films, 5 For Fighting)*

  • Tim Cherry, Laszlo Barna, Jamie Brown, Margaret O’Brien, Lesley Oswald, Wayne Thompson, Jeff Woolnough, Andrew Wreggitt

*Nominees are Albertans or Alberta Co-productions.

Congratulations to the nominees! For a full list please visit the Canadian Screen Awards website.  Catch the 2-Hour Broadcast Live with Martin Short Sunday March 3, 2013 @ 8pm (8:30 N.T) on CBC.