nominations Archives - Alberta Media Production Industries Association

Canadian Screen Awards Announced!

By Uncategorized
The 2017 Nominees for the Canadian Screen Awards have been announced this morning at simultaneous press conferences in Toronto and Montreal. Here are the highlights of our Albertan nominees!


  • Congrats to SEVEN24 Films for several nominations for Wynonna Earp, including: Best Achievement in Make-Up, Best Costume Design, Best Original Score, Best Visual Effects, and Best Writing in a Dramatic Series.
  • Prairie Dog Film + Television received 3 performance nominations for the series Blackstone, honouring actors Eric Schweig, Carmen Moore, and Julian Black Antelope.
  • Global Edmonton News at 6 is nominated for both Best Local Newscast and Best News Special (Fort McMurray Wildfire Evacuation).
  • Daryl McIntyre is nominated for Best News Anchor, Local – CTV News Edmonton.
  • Calgary Writer/Actor Andrew Phung is nominated for Best Performance in a Comedy Series (Kim’s Convenience).

Digital Media

  • Spotlight Productions has received two nominations for Queer Hutterite, including Best Original Program or Series produced for Digital Media – Non- Fiction and Best Direction by Laura O’ Grady. The series is produced by Blair Miller, Kim Guise, Jonas Woost, Ravinder Minhas, Mathew Embry and Laura O’ Grady. 
  • SEVEN24 Films is nominated for Best Cross-Platform Project – Fiction for Wynonna Earp.
  • Upcoming Story Summit Speaker Patrick McGuire was nominated for two CSA’s for Best Original Program and Best Immersive Experience with VICE Media. (See more on Story Summit here)


  • The Northlander was nominated for Achievement in Make-Up

To see the full list of the 2017 Nominees for the Canadian Screen Awards, visit the official site here: http://www.academy.ca/category/2017-film-nominees/


2013 Alberta Film & Television Awards Nominees Announced

By Uncategorized

The Alberta Film & Television Awards Nominees were announced earlier today in both Calgary and Edmonton:


A full list of nominees is available here: 2013 Alberta Film and Television Nominees May 3– Updated May 3, 2013.

2013 AFTA Finalists – Press Release | Special Achievement Award – Dave Thomas

Join us for the 2013 Alberta Film & Television Awards on Saturday, May 25, 2013 at the Winspear Centre in Edmonton. Tickets are on sale at the Winspear Centre. Member Discount Code for tickets will be sent out in the Members’ Weekly enewsletter. Need a place to stay? Our partner hotel, the Westin Edmonton is providing discounts for all attendees of the Awards Show.

April 24: Alberta Film and Television Awards Nominees Announcement

By Uncategorized

Hold on to your belt buckles as we announce the nominees for the Alberta Film & Television Awards on Wednesday April 24, 2013.  Join us for our media conference for all the excitement.  Please RSVP here by Monday April 22, 4pm as space is limited. The Media Conference will begin at 9:30am sharp in both Calgary and Edmonton.  Please allot an hour for the media conference. Media interested in attending should contact the Alberta Film & Television Awards Publicist – Gordon Imlach – gordonimlach@me.com – (403) 370-8195.

Details on ticket sales and accommodation partners will also be announced.

The Den, 3rd Floor
Delta Bow Valley
209 4 Ave SE
The Chancellor Room
(Ballroom/ Banquet Level)
The Westin
10135 100 St NW

2013AFTA Save the Date