Skip to main content

Rockie Nominations for Alberta Producers

The nominees for the Rockie Awards were announced on Friday, April 17 and four Alberta production companies have been recognized! The Rockie Awards, held each year at the Banff World Media Festival is the largest program competition of its kind, with industry members from over 40 countries participating in this prestigious awards program. The Rockie Awards celebrates narrative content across 26 categories in drama, documentary, kids, and digital.

The Great Human Odyssey by Clearwater Documentary has been been nominated in the Science and Technology category. This three-part series is a journey of discovery in the footsteps of our human ancestors, lead by host and filmmaker Niobe Thompson.


Niobe Thompson, Host of The Great Human Odyssey and co-founder of Clearwater Documentary.

The Emmy winning series FARGO is up for Best Serial Drama. Mike Frislev and Chad Oakes of Nomadic Pictures are co-producers on this hit series with MGM and FX Productions.  Season 2 of the series has been filming in Calgary.


The first season of Fargo featured Colin Hanks, Martin Freeman and Billy Bob Thornton.

Canada’s longest running series Heartland is nominated for Best Youth Fiction. Calgary’s Seven24 Films is lead by Alberta Producers Tom Cox and Jordy Randall.


Season 8 of Heartland brought in over one million viewers per episode.

Anaid Productions is nominated in the Lifestyle category for one of their longest running series, The Liquidator. Executive Producers Margaret Mardirossian and Helen Schmidt are behind several award-winning reality series such as X-Weighted, Family Restaurant and Hail Mary.

Canada’s liquidation guru, Jeff Schwarz

Canada’s liquidation guru, Jeff Schwarz.

Nominees come from Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, China, Denmark, France, Germany, Hungary, India, Japan, The Netherlands, Norway, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Taiwan, the United Kingdom, and the United States. They are chosen by over 350 entertainment and media industry professionals from around the world. Congratulations to our AMPIA members and their cast & crew!

The award ceremony will be held on Monday, June 8 at 12:30pm MT.Click here for a full list the nominees.

Close Menu