Suite 200, 7316 - 101 Avenue, Edmonton, Alberta

(780) 944-0707

Edmonton Film Prize

The Edmonton Film Prize is a $10,000 annual cash prize to celebrate excellence in Edmonton’s screen-based community. The prize is intended for any narrative, documentary or experimental project with special consideration to any filmmakers who have made a unique contribution or outstanding accomplishment in the community.

Launched in 2012 by the Edmonton Arts Council, the Edmonton Film Prize was created to celebrate the best in Edmonton’s screen-based industries. Three winners will be awarded ($8,000 first place and two $1,000 runners up).

Applications for the 2017 Edmonton Film Prize will open in December.

Edmonton Film Prize Reception

FREE Event, All Ages!
Thursday, January 26, 2017 
Metro Cinema at the Garneau Theatre
8712 – 109 St, Edmonton, AB

6:30pm – 9pm
Appetizers & Cash Bar

AMPIA and Alberta Music are coming together to celebrate the achievements of Edmonton filmmakers and musicians, and you’re invited! The open reception includes a short presentation of film and live music, with the nominees of the Film and Music prizes in attendance. Reception and networking to follow. 

Edmonton Film Prize Nominees

Dylan Pearce – 40 Below and Falling
Lindsay Robinson, Stephen Robinson – How to Learn Anything
Adam Scorgie – Ice Guardians
Chris Craddock – It’s Not My Fault and I Don’t Care Anyway
Niobe Thompson – Memento Mori

Edmonton Music Prize Nominees

Mohsin Zaman
Scenic Route to Alaska
Maria Dunn


Director Trevor Anderson; David Shepherd, MLA Edmonton-Centre; Director Eva Colmers, Scott McKeen, City Councillor (Ward 6); and top-prize winner Niobe Thompson. Photo by Jennifer Dacanay.

2015 Winners